I gave you what you couldn’t see

For the dverse open night, a poem that I call Three Squared for want of a more attractive name—three stanzas of three lines with three rhymes and three x three syllables in each line.

1024px-Image_of_the_Sun_shining_through_clouds

There are marvels we have never seen

And places where we have never been

And things we say that we didn’t mean.

 

So I gave you clouds to build us dreams

I whispered songs, in bubbling streams

I showed you a sun with rainbow beams.

 

Dark is the day, full of fear the night,

I gave you my heart to shine its light

But you couldn’t see it dancing bright.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

42 thoughts on “I gave you what you couldn’t see”

    1. Thank you! I think you have to really want to get inside the other person’s skin, to know how they feel and what they want. It’s too much like hard work for many people.

    1. Thanks Beverly 🙂 I think we do expect that the ‘special’ person is completely in accord with our own thoughts and desires, so we’re even more disappointed when they let us down.

  1. I find people say things they don’t mean all the time…I can never figure it out though. Either I take it too seriously, or not seriously enough…(K)

  2. So sorry Jane, unexpected visitors last night have made me rather late in responding to your piece. You pull this off immaculately – a very sweet read…

Leave a Reply

