Microfiction: Remains III

This concludes the ‘Remains’ story. Part one is here, part two here.

charred-toys

The wind blew cold. Rain pooled in the bottom of the hole, but we found nothing else. Joe hunkered down with his back to the wall, his face hidden in his hands.

“Baby Doll only had one bootee. And the ribbons were blue,” I said.

Joe took a shuddering breath. “And Uncle Fred had a great bald patch on his front where she’d tried to shave him.”

I put a hand on his shoulder. “Maybe we should just accept that we’ll never know who took her or why. Maybe we should…start again.”

Joe’s shoulders shook, and I couldn’t tell if he was nodding in agreement or weeping.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

14 thoughts on “Microfiction: Remains III”

  1. So they weren’t her toys after all, just like them. So sad though, that not knowing, that limbo , not being able to move on. Thank you for finishing the tale – it was terrifically written, Jane

    1. I’m glad you liked it! I didn’t want to leave it unfinished, and I really wanted it not to be any more tragic than absolutely necessary. I suppose it could have been worse…

Leave a Reply

