Falling star

For the dverse prompt—poems that could save a life. This is about friendship and dead-end relationships. Save a life? Maybe.

822px-pruszkowski_falling_star

How can I save a life when I am lost,

falling through the slender trunks of silver birch,

ghost white in the river mists?

There were so many paths we could have trod,

the rules bend and break for such as us,

but we wandered where the trees grew dense,

the mists hung thick,

and things we loved we lost beside the way.

You ask for words to soothe the gnawing pain

of lover gone and walls that fall away,

but I have none to spare—

the hollow trees have swallowed all my dreams

and where birds sang the rooks croak in the gloom.

But take my hand and look into the night,

rook wing-black and ragged as my heart,

together we may find a falling star

and in its wake, the streaming morning light.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

34 thoughts on “Falling star”

  1. Love these last lines… oftentimes, this is simply what we need to hear. ❤
    "together we may find a falling star
    and in its wake, the streaming morning light"

  2. Your poem was the first one up this morning after a much needed but interrupted sleep and the opening line just tugged at my heart. It seems, at first, to be about sorrow and regret, with the falling through silver birches, the paths that could have been taken, getting lost and losing. But the whole poem turns on the line: ‘the hollow trees have swallowed all my dreams’ and there is such hope in holding hands and searching for a falling star. I’m smiling and looking forward to the rest of the day!

    1. I’m glad it worked for you, Kim. When I find myself wallowing in near disaster, it helps to turn to someone else who is going through a bad patch and try to give some comfort.

  3. Sometimes, all we need is a friend 🙂 I love these lines:-
    But take my hand and look into the night,

    rook wing-black and ragged as my heart,

    together we may find a falling star

    and in its wake, the streaming morning light.

  4. Oh Jane….this is beautiful and you’ve found just the right illustration for it! I could feel the mist and the dense trees around me as I was reading. The imagery is so visceral. Sometimes, in a relationship, we do indeed wade into the thickness of it all….and it can be a maze to come out on the other side. Some do not. This is a wonderful post for the prompt.

Leave a Reply

