Microfiction: Gone

For Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers.

PHOTO PROMPT © Sarah Potter

sp-overgrown-summer-house

 

It would have been a perfect place to work, looking out into the garden, windows open to the breeze and the swaying branches of overhanging trees. The wisteria perfumed it in spring, roses in summer. You put my desk where the light fell in dapples and waited for me to charm the words into stories. It would have been perfect. But you went away, and left your touch in the soft grain of the wood, your face framed in the fluttering leaves, your voice in the breeze. Perhaps another could have borne it. Not I.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

71 thoughts on “Microfiction: Gone”

  1. Sometimes moods should be shaken off especially when they bring so much love and hope to readers of your words.
    Thank you

    1. Thank you for making me feel better 🙂 I have a lot on my plate at the moment, and it’s emotional stuff (though nothing like the subjects of the stories/poems, thank goodness!) and I’m trying to channel the anxiety into writing. It’s coming out very melancholic.

      1. Who cares what the perception may be be that melancholic? Maybe it is actually inspiring or someone’s redemption
        To speak words of darkness no one will utter is bravery upon

  2. Hi Jane,
    You flash was beautifully and sensitively written taking me on to the melancholy, or even tragic, end.
    Sorry to hear you are stressed and going through a melancholy time at the moment. I try to remind myself to get outside, walk, feel the sun, when the going gets tough and yet that’s often when I don’t have the time or simply want to hibernate. I do tap, yoga and violin classes each week and they also provide me with a break and a lovely sanctuary from the real world.
    Take care!
    xx Rowena

    1. Thank you! These very short story prompts are good practice packing the essentials into a small space. We are always being told to cut out description, but it’s essential, seems to me.

Leave a Reply

