Dreams or foot soldiers

For the Secret Keeper’s writing prompt. I used all the prompt words in the first phrase, so used the poem to tell the story.

Thank you Shine9 for the painting.

ASSUME | MIND | LATE| BEING | STARE

1024px-A_freedom_to_dream

From your cold stare,

I assume you mind my being late,

and though my arms are full of flowered dreams

and wishes, gathered in a field of stars,

to thread into your hair

with laughter and the scent of roses,

you don’t want to know why.

If I were to spread these wings

(that you have never seen),

and soar into the blue

with meteors in a fiery tail,

weeping golden tears of farewell,

your eyes would still be on your watch,

counting the seconds of lost time,

the tiny foot soldiers,

never to be used to further your career.

Such a waste, I hear you think,

as you sweep their husks of bodies into the past

and wonder if there’s still time

to cancel the tickets.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

4 thoughts on “Dreams or foot soldiers”

Leave a Reply

