Heat

1024px-Arthur_Streeton_-_Sunlight_(Cutting_on_a_hot_road)_-_Google_Art_Project

Light,

so bright

I hide my eyes,

but still the hand of heat lies heavy on my head.

Throbbing darkly like the sun,

shadows bob in and out of sight.

Flowers, an unexpected joy,

frazzle in their coloured crowns and gowns,

thirsty even after storm rain torrents.

Walking these hard pavements

is like walking the floor of Hell,

and the brazen coping of its roof

is falling in molten drops

on this dry, whispering world.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

34 thoughts on “Heat”

      1. It was probably the wrong question. Since the weather and climate obey natural rules (unless we tamper with them) I should be asking you to play Nature rather than God.

  1. I could feel the heat (almost) as I read this. -I thought of van Gogh’s “Arles” paintings with the blinding sunlight.
    We’ve had humid, sticky heat here the last few days, but cooler this morning, and I think it’s supposed to be a pleasant day.

      1. Woke up with the third in a row, but they get less ferocious. I just want to go to sleep, but the youngest has her first real exam right now and I shall be in that exam room with her for the next four hours.

      2. I don’t know what it corresponds to but the school leaving exam is the Baccalaurรฉat and they get French and History parts of it out of the way a year early. Our youngest is almost a year younger than the rest of her class I feel like going in with her to hold her hand ๐Ÿ™‚

      3. Oh, I hope it all goes well for her! (And you.) ๐Ÿ™‚
        Some schools and states have exams like that, but it’s not a standard thing here. There are all sorts of state standardized tests now, and you do have to pass them to graduate, but they’re not really baccalaureate exams.

Leave a Reply

