Can I count the stars?

For the dverse open night, a poem without any particular rhyme or reason.

A.Cortina_El_sueño

Can I count the stars,

the grains of sand,

that glitter on the silver strand?

Can my heart hold

the songs the birds

make without words?

Sometimes it feels as though

the roses grow

though there is no glow

of summer sun to warm their hearts.

Will you wipe away

the mist so grey

that clouds the sky,

so I can see your face among the stars,

when you are far

and I have no wings to fly?

Sleep, says the moon,

for soon

the dawn will break,

like hearts we forsake

when futile dreams die.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

64 thoughts on “Can I count the stars?”

  1. “Can my heart hold
    the songs the birds
    make without words?”

    You were hearing another kind of music when you wrote this. The kind that occurs in silence and solitude. Captivating.

  2. When the clouds become tangible and soak the soul, when the sun is lost and you can’t find the moon. Without that endless sky, solitude becomes tactile…there you are –caught in the center of the poem you wrote. Lovely.

  3. Beautiful write, Jane. Reminded me of the Chinese classics from Li Bai and Su Shi, especially those of lunar contemplations. Though centuries away, they likewise have looked to the same moon for answers. They would have found a friend in you. πŸ™‚

    1. What a beautiful compliment! I obviously only know English translations of Chinese poetry, but it seems as though they capture the essence of things. No curlicues and embellishments. Pure and not at all simple πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

