The garden is drunk on peaches

One poem from each of the four magnet sets. I know the second one is grammatically incorrect, but I like the rhyme. Humour me.

 

The garden is drunkScreen Shot 2017-06-16 at 12.23.09

on peaches,

ships sleep on the sea,

water runs like blue moon shine,

rose petals blow away in storm winds,

but still I dream

of you and me,

shadows on the skin of time.

 

Drink my dreams,Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 14.19.35

they hold a thousand

sweet promises

of peace under the sky

for you and I.

 

Remember the voices in the night,Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 14.29.37

soft words, slow and wild,

making magic

out of our young hearts,

dancing in the dark

with a universe of stars.

 

Be air,Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 14.37.07

blue as rain

in a night garden.

Shine like the sun

at dawn.

Come, peace,

grow seeds of love

in this wild earth.

 

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “The garden is drunk on peaches”

  1. Beautiful, Jane. I love these poems, especially the third one. It was so personal and a universal at the same time, it really resonated with me. And your words are reminding me how I wish I had more opportunities to be out in nature right now.

    1. Thank you ร‰ilis ๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoy playing with the magnets. Even though the word pool never changes, and it isn’t very large, the fridge oracle always manages to suggest different poems. I’m sure there’s some form of suggestion behind it. I’m glad you like these ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You decided to visit early this week, and the Oracle was in fine form. I agree with Kerfe–very lyrical. There were some lovely phrases, and I really liked the third one.

    1. Um, it wasn’t so much that I decided to visit early, more that we did our Saturday chores yesterday because husband had a rendez-vous at 9. I just let myself get carried away by that Saturday morning feeling of relief when the shopping is finished for another week ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

