When all the colours of the world are grey

Another villanelle for the dverse prompt. I chose this painting by Yumeji Takehisa because the ambiguity seems to fit the sense of the poem. To me the hand is a barrier between the two, saying ‘That’s enough! No further.’

754px-TakehisaYumeji-1930-Seishun_Fu

When all the colours of the world are grey,

And stars fall thick as ash in deepest night,

Between us there is nothing more to say.

 

The moon has set, I could not make her stay,

She would not see my silver tears of slight,

When all the colours of the world are grey.

 

In silence of the dark, I hoped that day

Would dawn, at least, with rainbow-coloured sight,

Between us there is nothing more to say.

 

November, chill and drear, it seems, not May,

This cascade, cold and cheerless, of pale light

When all the colours of the world are grey.

 

So long ago, it seems, spring flew away,

With swallow’s dart, wild goose’s steady flight,

Between us there is nothing more to say.

 

When boundless joy plunges into dismay,

Handfuls of dust, what once was pure delight,

Our shining world is empty, dull and grey,

No love between us, nothing more to say

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

59 thoughts on “When all the colours of the world are grey”

      1. That’s where I get my book covers too. If you want something specific, you can trawl through pages and pages and not find what you want, then it will appear under a completely different heading. I don’t know how they catalogue the images, but it doesn’t seem logical to me.

      2. So true. It is not logical I have had to do the very same. This picture of today’s though what a beauty! PS some Virago’s wishing to come live with you shall be in the post soon! Love from the special rabbit book club!

      1. It’s more nuanced, and I think it’s possible to be melancholic one minute about one thing in particular, and throw it off in gales of laughter over something else. Sadness is deeper and lingers, harder to shrug off.

    1. I don’t know. I’ve read some quite lighthearted poems this time. Since it’s a form we have to work at, maybe it does lend itself to themes that we hold close to the heart.

  1. The villanelle has a nice sound. The modification of the last line reinforced the meaning of that repeated line. Perhaps things will change for this couple or autumn will remain. Thanks for linking with dVerse!

    1. Thank you. The form does limit what you say and how you say it, that’s for sure. It only works well (for me) if I start with two strong phrases, with an end rhyme that offers enough possibilities. Once that problem is out of the way, it’s plain sailing πŸ™‚

  2. When you compose a poem,
    What err its known format,
    Your composure you have shown.

    Your wisdom of what is known,
    A painting sharp, bright, never flat,
    When you compose a poem.

    Like embrodery delically sewn,
    A lovers tete a tete, maybe a spat,
    Your composure you have shown.

    Secrets hidden, still all unknown.
    I bet you have to pactice that,
    When you compose a poem.

    With your talent you have proven,
    Its like in a cheerful, poetic chat,
    Your composure you have shown.

    Last stanza of this Villenlle poem.
    I can tell you love this format.
    When you compose a poem,
    Your composure you have shown.

      1. I have done a few, but I am going to check them out as I’m sure there not quire to the format used here. (in as much as the first and third lines are used in the same fashion but, and its that but I am going to check, L8r’s

      2. I take my cue from Dylan Thomas (Do not go gentle) for the rhyme pattern and the metre. The metre doesn’t have to be pentametre, but the poem should have a strict rhythm of one kind or another.

  3. Why am I not surprised to see a double portion from you when most of us struggle to get one done? Lol

    The melancholy in this piece is compelling and refined, without any melodrama (should a less skillful hand execute it). Anyway, all your villanelles are wonders of art and standards of the form. Applause.

    1. Thank you, Colin! I’m pleased you like this one. There’s a knack to writing villanelles, and it’s to do with the way it sounds. Writing a good villanelle is harder, of course πŸ™‚ I try, that’s all I can say.

  4. A beautfiful and flowing villanelle Jane, despite the grey colors ~ I specially love this part:

    Our shining world is empty, dull and grey,

    No love between us, nothing more to say

  5. Beautiful Jane. That’s a hard place to be, that grey place. I don’t like that place, where silence rides in on majestic misunderstandings. It’s too sad there.

  6. Sad, but lovely. You do such a great job, Villanelle Queen!
    I didn’t get a chance to write one for this prompt, but perhaps next week, I’ll write one. Or try. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

