Drunken symphonies before dawn

I do like this week’s clutch of magnet poems. The oracle is in thoughtful mood.

 

The rain is red today,Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 12.09.47

with sun spray

blown in the wind.

Light flickers,

shot through with shadows,

a drunken symphony

screamed at the moon.

 

Come dance with meScreen Shot 2017-06-24 at 12.20.30

and be my love

hold my hand and keep it always,

together we soar

to the dreaming stars

of the quiet evening

and the morning sky.

 

 

Ocean growls Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 14.26.37

in a wild voice,

from ghost-haunted morning

to dark, velvet night.

I dance in red fire-dazzle

on salt green waves

till the stars wake.

 

Green dusk thickens;Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 14.37.58

rain rustles

through the roses.

I walk the cold mountain

while night breathes darkling,

and the lake murmurs:

Listen to the moon,

dawn will follow.

 

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

28 thoughts on “Drunken symphonies before dawn”

    1. That’s the magical thing about magnet poetry. You don’t set out with an idea in mind, not even an image. You look at the words that are proposed and you begin to see a poem in them. The image behind the poem, if there is one, is in the mind of the fridge oracle πŸ™‚

      1. Oh! Thank you so much! It sounds so exciting to form a theme from the random words! I usually have a theme or a phrase which is where I start. This could be a new experience.

      2. Exactly! The first time I tried this, I just stared at the words and wondered how on earth I was going to get a poem out of it. Just pick out a few words then press the button for some more until you get a good phrase. Don’t worry about picking out ‘good’ words for later. The pool is limited, so after a few requests for more words you get the first lot back again anyway.

      3. That’s how exactly I feel right now! How one make a poem out of it. But your words are hopeful, I hope I can make something. Thanks for the helpful. Oh! It’s like a whole another world hiding in my mobile. These amazing poems, forms and poets like you, I am just so glad I found!

      4. It’s great to feel supported. I know I do πŸ™‚ Launching into poetry is so much harder than novel writing. Getting it ‘wrong’ is more difficult to assume. The blogging community is great for showing appreciation.

      5. Oh! I do. Not all of them, but I do. I met you through a dVerse challenge too. Indeed they are so nice, I had some really good appreciation and friends from there!

      6. There are so many different responses. Some are a pleasure to read, some are not very good poems, and some are perplexing. As you say, it’s fun reading all the different approaches.

  1. Green dusk – the best thing about the magnetic poetry is how it blends words and images together that we might not think of on our own. Thanks for sharing! Must magnetize my writing world today – wait, I think that is my 6 word Saturday right there!

    1. Now all you have to do is put it into practice πŸ™‚ I agree. The magnets suggest images that normally wouldn’t occur to us. Accepting that the really good word that would work best just isn’t in the oracle’s repertoire can be hard πŸ™‚

      1. I just posted one! I actually own one of the refrigerator versions of magnetic poetry. It’s fun to have out when people are coming over because you never know who wrote that dirty limmerick that you find after everyone has gone home! I also do a version in my classroom, cutting words from magazines and taping them to the backs of circus tickets, ala Poem Crazy by Wooldridge.

Leave a Reply

