Advice

This started off as a quadrille, but the giver of good advice wouldn’t shut up.

Painting ©Tania Marmolejo

'What_my_dominican_side_tells_my_swedish_side',_by_Tania_Marmolejo

After the brilliance

of the dalliance,

comes the confusion

of the disillusion,

the hideaway in seclusion

to find a suitable conclusion.

 

I sympathise with your situation,

the humiliation

after the realisation

that when we told you he was a blight,

we were right.

 

Where did you put your common sense?

Too dense

or incensed with passion to see?

Heez no good,

a dud,

a clapped-out stud,

who never could.

 

So please stop whining

and pining,

that loser was excruciating,

you should be celebrating.

Just go find yourself a man

who can.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

22 thoughts on “Advice”

      1. It’s very enjoyable. I like to write fun poems. Sometimes when there’s no strong emotion for me to express, I like to do some narrative style or just normal fun poems.

  1. This is brilliant! It should be posted in advice columns everywhere. This poem says it all.

Leave a comment