A dream too far

This is for Sonya’s Three Line Tales challenge.

Photo by Daniel von Appen on Unsplash

tltweek74

I can see the trees behind my back, reflected in the glass, still and silent beyond the fence.

If I turned my head I would see them standing tall and free, full of birds maybe, small flickers of movement in their depths, calling me, urging me to come.

If I turned I would see the wire fence, the miradors at the perimeter corners, and if I moved, the guns pointing straight at me—better to dream and live.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

22 thoughts on “A dream too far”

      1. I didn’t recognize it as a classroom actually. It was just a faceless glass and steel building. But yes, schooling is where the regimentation begins.

Leave a Reply

