Of green fields and falling stars

For the last dverse open link night for a couple of weeks, a villanelle.

Photo©Zach Dischner

1024px-Starry_Night_(4828962598)

I can hear the voice of green fields calling,

On the rippled edges of my hearing,

See the fiery tails of fierce stars falling.

 

When all around me the sounds of brawling,

Clash with the cackle of brazen jeering,

I can hear the voice of green fields calling.

 

On the night dark streets where moonlight’s palling,

I watch for the signs of dawn appearing,

See the fiery tails of fierce stars falling.

 

When the skylark sings his songs enthralling,

In the morning sky where dawn is peering,

I can hear the voice of green fields calling.

 

I would trawl the sky with my net’s hauling,

To brighten the place of sad souls’ cheering,

See the fiery tails of fierce stars falling.

 

Too slowly the city days are crawling,

Too long the waiting, fraught and wearying,

For I hear the voice of green fields calling

And the fiery song of fierce stars falling.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

28 thoughts on “Of green fields and falling stars”

  1. Lovely villanelle, Jane–beautiful language. Yes, a bit of Yeats.
    The green fields calling and “And the fiery song of fierce stars falling.” I like how you changed the words of the repeating lines a little in the last stanza.

    1. It’s one of the things that’s allowed in a villanelle, and I like the way it can put a different emphasis on the repeated lines, makes you think about them a bit more 🙂

  2. I’ve heard “the green fields calling” all my life. I love the convenience of city living, but I always wanted to live on the very edge, so I was a stone’s throw from green fields. Your villanelle is lovely!

    1. Thank you, Beverly. That’s how I feel, I suppose. The city groups all that is necessary for modern living, schools, hospitals, shops etc but we feel we’d like to be able to do without all that. Maybe we can. We’re going to try anyway 🙂

  3. I hear you yearning for the country here, and yet your verses about the city are so sharp and true. I guess this is how good people end up, despite themselves, in the suburbs!

  4. A soul stirring piece to read this morning Jane ~ Love your refraining lines:

    For I hear the voice of green fields calling

    And the fiery song of fierce stars falling.

  5. A very fine villanelle. The music is enhanced by the alliteration. The vowel changes in the middle lines with the added “ings” makes it seem like a modal changing from major to minor throughout the piece. Very fine work indeed.

Leave a comment