Tanaga

Thank you to Jeren and Jilly for introducing me to the tanaga. Here are two, using different rhyme patterns.

 

I run a finger down your cheek,

Valleys traced by our shared years,

Gone, smooth youth with all its fears—

Silence tongue, no need to speak.

*

Sleeping face in dawn’s pale light,

Hollows filled with shadowed night,

Withheld breath, I touch your lips,

Waking, night to morning slips.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

17 thoughts on “Tanaga”

    1. Thank you, Ryan 🙂 I think it’s like many of these very structured forms, the trick is to make it flow, otherwise it sounds forced and clunks along. I’m glad you think these work 🙂

      1. I couldn’t agree more, Jane. Nothing is more obvious than a round peg being forced…but you transition from one form to the next so very gracefully. I’m most envious. Lovely to read 🙂

Leave a Reply

