Life pulse

This poem is the threading together of several small poems that all seemed to lead in the same direction.

Redon.coquille

Life throbs in ocean currents,

the rhythmic beat of rain in the rushes,

the booming song of the whale

and the tremulous heartbeat of a bird.

 

It coils and twists,

intricate as a snail shell,

filled with sand and diamonds and stars,

a capharnaum of treasures

and barbed ambiguities,

 

of things that drive us apart,

roses plucked from the tree,

a caged bird weeping,

contrary winds filling unruly sails,

 

and things that hold us together,

threads of sunlight,

tangles of roses,

strings that net the stars,

and the merest touch of your hand.

 

In the coiled nacre of our shell,

where night is bright as pearl

and day dim and cool as the ocean,

where stars fall and fish leap in the sun,

there is no end to me,

no beginning to you.

 

 

Sometimes

in the night,

to the beat of a double pulse,

I feel my thoughts slipping,

sand through fingers,

from me to you,

your lips,

my words—

oneness.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

24 thoughts on “Life pulse”

  1. This is wonderful. I love how the things that hold you together are so diaphanous. And this, move over, Pablo Neruda:
    In the coiled nacre of our shell,

    where night is bright as pearl

    and day dim and cool as the ocean,

    where stars fall and fish leap in the sun,

    there is no end to me,

    no beginning to you.

  2. It’s amazing. The immense beauty in it from every metaphor was overwhelming. I really loved the last two stanza. We all love some irony especially when it’s caused by love, it was perfectly described in penultimate stanza and the last stanza simple beauty, the line, “sand through fingers” stole my heart.

  3. I haven’t read the actual poem yet. But when seeing in my feed what I perceived as the opening of a beautiful poem, I thought “This poem is the threading together of … ” was a brilliant start.

  4. It is magnificent. I especially like these:

    “Life throbs in ocean currents,
    the rhythmic beat of rain in the rushes”

    “It coils and twists,
    intricate as a snail shell”

    “a capharnaum of treasures
    and barbed ambiguities”

    “and things that hold us together,
    threads of sunlight,
    tangles of roses,
    strings that net the stars,
    and the merest touch of your hand”

  5. Stunning! You’ve said it all:
    Life is powerful and gentle.
    Life is great and delicate.
    Life has a time for weeping and a time for laughter, a time for coming together and for parting.
    Life is untouchably far and inseparably close.
    Life is everywhere and nowhere.

Leave a Reply

