Borrowed wings

This is for the Secret Keeper’s writing prompt. The words are:

SOAR | WRONG | LAND | RESIST | BELOW

Photo ©Mstyslav Chernov

1024px-ISOF_APC_on_the_streets_of_Mosul._Northern_Iraq,_Western_Asia._18_November,_2016

I’ll borrow any wings to fly away,

Among the clouds where silence reigns to soar,

And leave below the world of blood and war.

 

I’ll borrow any wings, of gull or hawk,

The land is red and weeping, full of fear,

And safety beckons in the blue so clear.

 

I’ll borrow any wings though my heart bleeds.

To leave, you say and not to fight is wrong,

I should stand up, resist, I should be strong.

 

I’ll borrow any wings for some are made

To fight, and some can only stand and die,

Or leap into the cold, unsmiling sky.

 

These wings are only borrowed, I’ll return,

When the land is cleansed, peace come anew—

I used up all my courage when I flew.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

8 thoughts on “Borrowed wings”

Leave a Reply

