Peaceful night

I missed the oracle on Saturday, so caught up with her today.

 

Bitter dreamsScreen Shot 2017-07-10 at 18.54.51

in honey smeared,

a thousand times

you whisper peach-sweet words.

I watch the sun set in a purple sky

and soar above

the mad moon music that you sing.

 

 

Dream away, my heart,Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 21.23.31

run like the river

through all the years.

Touch the stars,

hold them always—

listen to their voices.

Let night music lift your soul

into the sunlight.

 

 

Ghost breeze dancesScreen Shot 2017-07-10 at 21.58.18

blue as the vast ocean

where sail the salty clouds.

Remember the star of peace

in a velvet sky

and eternity breathing life

into the almost morning.

 

 

Rain song, Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 22.38.34

colour of dawn-rose cloud

and dusky blue,

murmurs through the trees,

a waterfall of peace.

Quiet, the dark river

on this long night of moonlight,

I wish would never end.

 

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

19 thoughts on “Peaceful night”

    1. Thanks Merril 🙂 It’s a funny thing, but I kept wondering if I hadn’t by mistake picked the same set of words over and over. The word choice, or the words my eye was drawn to anyway, seemed to be very similar each time. She’s clever like that, the oracle 🙂

      1. But aren’t we always rearranging, most of the time with our entire vocabulary, in magnet with few words and it makes it more impressive feat to rearrange in a more beautiful way!

Leave a Reply

