Microfiction #Three Line Tales: Minuet

I’m having great trouble accessing other blogs and leaving comments today, so please bear with me. If I don’t leave a comment or a reply it’s because I can’t.

This is for Sonya’s Three Line Tales prompt.

tltweek76

She had always wanted to dance barefoot in the rain, and the tennis courts were invitingly empty just after the storm.

The light rain felt soothing to her skin after the great heat and she twirled languidly, imagining herself a courtisane hoping to catch the attention of a noble or perhaps the king himself.

She was sure the voices she heard were in French, a language she didn’t know, but she tried her best to reply politely and was curtseying low when the nurses spotted her and hurried over to get her back inside.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

45 thoughts on “Microfiction #Three Line Tales: Minuet”

      1. Place a comment on my site.. Say anything.. Let me check if Akismet is the culprit.. The last two weeks for me.. Were hell.. Same problem.. Turns out Akismet was doing it..

      2. Post a comment and tell me by replying to this comment.. My notification panel will tell me.. If it is not showing i will check my folders and will tell you..

      3. I got your first comment..and i replied.. The second one is not showing in any of the folders.. Strange..

  1. Nooo! It was almost a beautiful snapshot of a dream… but no she had to be in an institution. I love your writings you know I do but do you think you will do a fluffy sparkly happy ever after? Answers on a postcard… i love postcards.

  2. I love knowing, i will never be not surprised with a virtual friend like you around. When you coming to blighty I would love to have you come and sip tea by the well in our house in Suffolk? Good food and fair words…

    1. Something I imagine often is the party I would love to throw with all you virtual besties. (geddit?) I’d love to sip tea round a well in Suffolk, but never go to Blighty. The diaspora has moved on and we’re all over the place now. You’ll have to come here. I’ll let you know when we get there 🙂

      1. You won’t need any more than me and the husband, he has stories of his adventures that could fill a week, He is a superb cook as well. I just never shut up so if we came with an entourage I wouldn’t get a look in.

      2. He also builds, repairs and makes almost anything. He also slowly shakes his head and says ‘She writes’ by way of explaining away my secret note taking in closets and toilets when we are out. The other thing I often hear is ‘you’re really not right’ in a very affectionate tone.

Leave a Reply

