Follow the river

Schiele_-_Wiese_mit_Dorf_im_Hintergrund_-_1907

Follow the river into the hills,

Fly with the wild geese roaming,

Sail with the stars in deepest night,

On the songs birds sing at gloaming.

 

Without you, hushed the river’s words,

Empty the sky, the geese all flown,

The stars, bright baubles, coloured light,

Blackbird’s song grates, the roses blown.

 

So take my hand and never let go,

The hill path climbs where shadows stalk

Sing me your swansong in dusk’s dim light,

When it’s done, with heaven’s stars we’ll walk.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

16 thoughts on “Follow the river”

    1. Thank you! Everything has flipped back to normal as of a few hours ago. I hadn’t been able to access anything though except the comments on my blog. Couldn’t leave comments anywhere else or even load sites properly and couldn’t post on my blog or access my gallery of images. Did the comments I left on your posts ever show up? I gave up after a while.

      1. No, I haven’t seen any comments from you in days. Those WP gremlins certainly make things difficult. Do you have the new router–or whatever it is? 🙂

      2. No, but we have a different matchbox sized thing. The first one packed up alltogether. This one works intermittently. It’s been fine for the last few hours, but useless since yesterday evening. The new thing (chocolate box) comes on Monday.

Leave a Reply

