Ennui

1024px-Christen_Købke_-_Luftstudie

Grey thoughts, like the low sky,

heavy with rain that doesn’t fall,

echo empty where joy should be

and anguish twists guts I shouldn’t feel.

Where is the summer sky?

And would it change one iota

this sullen, bone-gnawing vide?

Grass browns where the pavilions stood

and feet trod

and people laughed.

There is more to come, of this organised pleasure,

more tents and drinks and unnecessary eating.

As if the human spirit cannot entertain itself.

From the outside, I watch and despise,

but joy sleeps for me,

somewhere in the grey cloud depths.

If only the rain would fall

and fill the gutters with laughter.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

12 thoughts on “Ennui”

  1. Oh my! Beautifully written, and with a detour I wasn’t expecting.
    “From the outside, I watch and despise,
    but joy sleeps for me,
    somewhere in the grey cloud depths.
    If only the rain would fall
    and fill the gutters with laughter.”
    One has to have lived in a rainy climate to appreciate the irony of the sound of rain being the sound (and spirit) of laughter.

      1. I know. I spent a year and a half in Tacoma, Washington, less than a hundred miles from the only temperate climate rain forest in the whole world. The people do not tan there; they rust.

      2. Indeed! That was an unofficial quote of Seattle/Tacoma. One could add, with enough rain… so do our children! (grow tall and green. 🙂 )

  2. Oh how you speak my spirit …. this is a delicious nugget and anthem for those whose souls feel dry and for whom human artifice will never substitute the joy that natures drenching provides 🌧

    1. I don’t understand many people, or what they are looking for. Why does everything ‘fun’ have to have a deafening crass musical accompaniment, junk food and an excess of cheap alcohol?

Leave a Reply

