Dappled cat

Bengal_Cat_(Fia)

Cat watches me, his coat, dapples among sun dapples, a leopard. Cat stalks, distrustful or perhaps disinterested, to sniff my outstretched hand. Hungry? He smiles and rolls on his back, belly up, yellow, black-buttoned and tight as a tick. I know that game, and no, I won’t risk my hand. He wriggles on his back, paws ready, tail flicking back and forth, then, pangolin-like, he curls head over tail and back again, buttons flashing. Suddenly, the leopard remembers his dignity, shakes the dust from his sunshine and shade dapples, and trots back to his private domain, slipping like a shadow, beneath the sheet metal door.

Β 

Lithe, wild, Bengal cat,

slips like exotic sunshine

through this dusty world.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

24 thoughts on “Dappled cat”

  1. Sunday seems to be a slow day for comments, Jane. I see the same on many blogs, and also on mine.
    This cat and his forgotten and remembered dignity touches a button on my heart. πŸ™‚
    Kindness – Robert.

    1. Thanks Robert. He’s a great cat and completely independent. I just wish he’d stay away from the main roads, but he won’t. His territory covers the entire neighbourhood.

      1. Cats vs Cars – that’d be a good movie! πŸ™‚
        (although, I fear, a short one)
        Yeah – keep telling him to keep away from the road.

      2. I wish he lived with us, but he doesn’t. His owners haven’t been around looking for him for a while, but he’s well fed, so I’m guessing they’ve just given up worrying. He and my dog don’t exactly get on well either. He’s not the kind of cat that runs away when he sees a dogβ€”he stalks over and issues threats.

    1. Thanks Charley. I don’t think he wants a home the way other cats do. He has a huge territory and won’t be kept indoors.His owners used to come looking for him with a cage to drag him home, but they’ve have stopped. He’s beautiful and wild. I just hope he doesn’t take one chance too many with the traffic.

      1. I know what you’re feeling. Traffic is always an issue. Cats, however, tend to be cats. Some love the domestic life… others prefer to take their chances. Humans are only one of the hazards they face here.

      2. I read a few blog posts from someone who keeps Bengal cats, and she said you can’t let them out of the house/apartment because they roam, females same as the males. It seems drastic to me, if the cat’s instinct is to wander, that you shouldn’t be keeping one in an apartment. The one that wanders round our street crosses two main traffic arteries on his travels and when he wants in, waits at the door of the building until someone goes in or out. The restaurant owners hate him because he’s in and out of their kitchen windows all the time…

Leave a Reply

