Water beneath the bridge

A quadrille for the Secret Keeper’s challenge. It sounds to me like something the oracle might have whispered.

This week’s words:

YOUNG | OUTCOME | ENTER | HERE | WATER

930px-Lawson_Spring_Night

Water beneath the bridge, you say, carries worries away.

But on what shore does the tide abandon them,

To sink roots, nurture young shoots?

Enter here, roars the river, leave hope for the foolish.

Nothing fades but it leaves a ring of grime behind.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

6 thoughts on “Water beneath the bridge”

    1. Thanks Jennifer πŸ™‚ I like this painting too, the colours appeal in particular. I’m not as hopeful as youβ€”worries, for me are only ever shoved out of sight, round the bend in the river, but my fear is that they have washed up somewhere are started multiplying.

Leave a Reply

