Phases

Just got back, lots of prompts to catch up on, and the first is for the dverse prompt: The End.

Lunar_libration_with_phase2.gif

I plant a shrivelled seed and watch it grow,

Sunlight, moonlight and a sprinkling of rain,

A flowered carpet lies beneath the snow,

Nothing ends they say, all things start again.

Β 

Though petalled heads will shrink and blow away,

Knotted like the knuckles of old hands,

Spring returns as after night comes day,

And moon draws up the tide upon the sands.

Β 

But as I stand upon the silver edge

Where moonlight ends and moonless dark begins,

The wind blows cold through withered paper sedge,

In this new seed-specked phase no blackbird sings.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

25 thoughts on “Phases”

  1. I love this, Jane. It’s like a lyrical gothic apocalypse. (If that’s not a genre, it should be.)
    Great image, too.
    I was wondering where you were, and if I should be worried. The dVerse prompts were such Jane prompts! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! It’s kind of you to be worried. I could have made an announcement that I was going away to the country seat for a few days, but that would look so regal, with the response, she thinks we care? I took my computer with me and didn’t even take it out of its carrier. Too much to do!

      1. Well, I did care, but I wouldn’t have announced it in advance either. πŸ™‚ I thought you were most likely in the country or having Internet problems again.

    1. Thanks Sarah. I dashed off a free style poem, thinking this is an easy prompt. Didn’t like the result at all. I prefer this more formal poem since it’s a pretty serious subject πŸ™‚

  2. I didn’t get a dark vibe — rather praise for that dark interface where life ends and begins and ends. I love that place. Great vid of the moon — not just quartering and halves and filling of shadows, but that turning motion as well.

    1. The ultimate death and renewal, all within a month. I like the idea of the dark line. Beyond, we step from light to shadow, but only shadow, not an end or a void. We can still step and walk, and maybe learn to love the shadows as much as sunlight.

    1. Thanks Kerfe. It’s good to be missed πŸ™‚ It’s the removal by stealth in operation, another van load of stuff we couldn’t expect removal men to take (old planks, dismembered pieces of furniture, broken ladders etc etcβ€”junk).

Leave a Reply

