Tanka Tuesday: Hunt & Find

I finally caught sight of a couple of deer down by the stream. They crossed to our side and ran through the trees to where next door’s meadow begins. A tanka for Colleen’s Tuesday challenge.

SunsetField

Through the trees, deer leap,

red light in green shade flickers,

then in silence, gone.

I search the still branches, find

memories of wild beauty.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

23 thoughts on “Tanka Tuesday: Hunt & Find”

    1. Thank you, Colleen! I was so thrilled to finally see some deer. Everybody else has seen them. When we’re not there, the neighbour sees them almost every day, but the wildlife is timid, and we hear more than we see. I’m glad my sense of delight came across 🙂

      1. How marvelous to get to see the deer. In the prairie fields not far from our house, we can see the antelope grazing. I will have to try and get a photo. They are spectacular. ❤

      2. We are very small and cramped compared with your scale of vastness, and the wildlife has less space. Maybe that’s one reason why they are so timid. Antelopes must be incredible!

      1. It’s true though. Even if only because it’s over. A sunset, a glimpse of a couple of deer, the song of a bird—they’re all beautiful, but when the moment passes it leaves a twinge of the heart.

  1. Beautifully done, tanka, Jane. It is inspiring to see something like that–a bit of magic that appears, and then so suddenly is gone.
    Coincidentally, this morning, my husband sent me a photo of deer that he had just seen at the golf course (his part-time retirement job).

    1. I know deer are quite common in suburbia, like foxes. But the deer in the countryside are very timid, too many hunters, and they are always on the alert. Even the birds keep away from human presence. To see these two was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

