Haiku challenge: Perfume and Lost

For TJ’s Household Haiku prompt, a trio. Basically, I missed out one of the two prompt words in the first one…

Photo ©Oliver C.Mallorca, skapheandros

lossy-page1-1024px-Enlightening_lathhouse.tif

Drifts in the night breeze,

scent so hard to place—perhaps

mine when we were young.

 

Lost in mists of time,

the scent of childhood summers,

gone with the swallows.

 

Night blooming jasmine

around the door leads us home—

the path never lost.

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

24 thoughts on “Haiku challenge: Perfume and Lost”

    1. It’s maybe the idea of always being able to find the way home. Home is such a strong image, add perfume to it, the night, and a journey, and there’s not much more romantic 🙂

    1. It happens occasionally that I wake in the night and smell perfume. It’s like a ghost passing, a friendly one, and I try to remember whose perfume it is. I wonder if it’s a perfume my mother used when I was small. One of those comforting ideas that have replaced religion for me 🙂

      1. My mother died fifteen years ago. I have a jumper of hers that I don’t wear, just keep, and it still smells of her perfume. It was a perfume she wore in her later years, not the same as the one she wore when I was small.

      2. I have a shirt of hers that she bought in Italy on our first visit there when I was seven. I wore it a lot until its age struck me and I began to treat it like an ancient relic 🙂

Leave a Reply

