Never

Another Jilly poem. A rhymer this time, inspired by the line:

“Such fragile wings”

~ Jim Harrison from Songs of Unreason

Robert_Genin_-_Paar_vor_Stadtkulisse

The firmness of your grip I thought was love,

The light in your deep eyes, a burning fire,

Together we would race the clouds above,

I never dreamed we’d flounder in the mire.

 

The songs I made could never reach my tongue,

Bright moonlit castles, daydreams fell apart,

I gathered roses, in the mud you flung

Their sweetness, nothing I made touched your heart.

 

You held me down when I reached for the sky,

I never touched the place where blackbird sings,

Against the blue, a slender perch on high—

You never thought I had such fragile wings.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

14 thoughts on “Never”

Leave a Reply

