Star dance and shadow fall

 

Do you recallScreen Shot 2017-08-12 at 12.23.51

how sweet it was, the rain?

We used to watch it play

mist music on the sea,

singing light on the water.

I wonder why the shadows

had to fall?

 

 

Air,Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 14.15.46

almost cloud,

colour of smoke and joy,

sails over oceans,

blushes in dawn light,

fills the sky with peace.

Listen to the magic wake.

 

Another star dances for you,Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 14.32.37

though the old one still blooms

in the night,

keeping time with your heart,

touching the sky

with morning wings,

if only you had the eyes to see.

 

Light climbs between the leaves,Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 14.47.23

wind breathes its secrets,

rain rustles, a quiet murmur.

Wait too long

and you will see

the withered blossom

fall from the tree.

 

 

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

15 thoughts on “Star dance and shadow fall”

      1. It drives me wild, here where I live, where there is hardly ANY rain, after one deluge they start decrying it and saying; ‘when will it end?’ etc, without any due concern to the state of our poor diminishing water sources. They literally drive 80 miles an hour in rain and wonder why they wreck-out, they lament any weather that is below 85 degrees … sigh. And again I ask myself why I live here! Yes I miss Europe for the rain, terribly. I think tropical rain is the best, warm, but the coachroaches that accompany that rain? Not so much!

Leave a Reply

