Tanka Tuesday: Spirit and Joy

Today, we finally got our internet connection! We might still be surrounded by a mountain of boxes, but we’re in and slowly finding places for everything. Nothing is going to be as easy as in town or as comfortable, but the compensations are the peace and quiet, and the impression of fitting into a bit of the landscape causing as little disruption as possible.

Colleen Chesebro seems to have chosen the prompt words for her weekly tanka challenge just to suit me.

 

This place, a spirit,

warp of dark, furtive movement,

weft of bright colours.

I taste joy in swift birdflight,

smell damp earth beneath fox pads.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

24 thoughts on “Tanka Tuesday: Spirit and Joy”

  1. poignant…”smell damp earth” seems particularly striking.

    on another note, I remember a poem challenge sometime back in which the form had two four line stanzas, with the fourth and fifth line the same line. Been searching about with no luck.

    1. Thank you 🙂 A poem that takes the last line of the first stanza and repeats it as the first line of the second stanza, is that right? I don’t remember that one, but I’ll have a look.

      1. yeah, a repetition. i’ve done a number of google searches and haven’t found it, but that doesn’t mean it out there somewhere. (I remember the poem I wrote it, it used the red ballon, but I’ve lost access to my old site)

      2. I found my poem in the book i self-published. I post it next and ask people if they know. Looks like it has the same syllable count for each line (get to choose how many? mine has six syllables) and the 4th line is repeated on the 5th line.

  2. Absolutely magical!! I can feel those words and see through your eyes. I’m so happy you are getting settled back in nature. I miss that so much myself. Hugs to you and your family. ❤

    1. Thanks Russell. We’ve given up an enviable home to be here. But you can’t have both the city and the countryside. You have to choose. In the abstract, I know this is the right choice. We just have to see how we manage with the very minimum of basics.

  3. I was thinking about you yesterday and wondering how the move was going. Congratulations on getting Internet access. 😉 The poem is lovely. I like the warp and weft of color and movement.

Leave a comment