Not the NaNoWriMo challenge

I had intended to do NaNoWriMo again this year, then I counted the number of completed, revised, polished and beta-read manuscripts I already have waiting to catch the interest of an agent (eight) and the number of partially completed novels in the pile (four) and I asked myself, if I can’t shift what I’ve already written, why make the problem worse?

So, instead of adding to the world novel glut, I am going to set myself (and anyone who wants to join in) a poetry challenge instead. Every day for the whole of November, I am going to post a line taken from a W.B. Yeats poem as prompt, inspiration, motivation, springboard. I’m not offering prizes or anything, just a challenge.

Get ready for Dead Day when I shall post the first quote.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

69 thoughts on “Not the NaNoWriMo challenge”

  1. Oh, I like this! If one can’t be inspired by Yeats, then there’s probably no hope. 🙂
    I like this no-pressure challenge, like Eliot’s Shadorma. If I get to them, fine, and if not, it’s also fine. I’m called for jury duty on Monday, so who know what will happen this week?

    1. Oh Merril, Jury Duty and W.B.Yeats, now that could be highly inspirational if not just highly humorous! Good luck with both and love this idea Jane! A friend of mine Kevin Bateman just did a poetry reading via Periscope with a group of Irish Poets at Thoor Ballylee yesterday. Yeats is never far from our minds meanderings it seems.

      1. Haha! Not planning to do multiple challenges in a single day. I’m going to sample the assorted box of chocolates and write according to the flavor that appeals. Will your Yeats quotes be posted in the mornings?

      2. I know! Your morning is my middle of the night. I’m on the same time zone as NYC. So I look at posts at 5am and then go to work. I think my 5 am is your late morning or lunch…?

      3. I’m an hour beyond GMT which is 6 hours ahead of you, I think. The clocks went back last night, so it might be only six hours now. You should have the prompt around breakfast time 🙂

  2. I am in Jane , a great idea looking forward to day one of “Not the NaNoWriMo challenge” bring on the No Pressure WB Yeats November Write.😉🤗🌹🌹🌹. NoPresWBYNo.
    💜💜💜

      1. A poem a day from a single prompt source would be pretty dedicated! I’d do NaNo if I wasn’t feeling that there’s not much point in writing books that may well never be published.

Leave a comment