Does literary have to mean dull and boring?

Looking for likely publishers for my pile of finished mss I came across one that looked promising, asking for ‘adult literary fiction’. As per the submissions guidelines, that precluded only children’s, YA, and poetry. That’s okay, I thought. I have adult work to submit, I write pretty decent sentences, grammatically correct with the odd lyrical flourish. I had always assumed that literary denoted a quality not a genre. Sadly, I was very wrong. ‘Literary fiction’ means something that could never be accused of being ‘genre fiction’.

Since authors are obliged to fit their work into a genre when pitching it to publishers and agents, or just to sell it on Amazon, many hopeful authors were asking questions on this author’s submissions page about which ‘genres’ would be accepted. Reading through the answers, it turns out that books with protagonists under age 25, romance, or paranormal elements, if the book could be called ‘women’s fiction’ or it simply didn’t fit into an Amazon category, were automatically disqualified as not being ‘literary’, as if ‘literary’ means what’s left over when you take out all the sparkle.

Paradoxically, the answers made me think of one book in particular: Wuthering Heights. Obviously it wouldn’t have been considered ‘literary’ enough for this publisher, but I think it illustrates some of the shortcomings, prejudices and failure to think outside the box that make life difficult for us ‘genre’ writers.

I know publishers want to be selective, and I agree, there is a huge amount of rubbish around, but why are they so frightened of judging a book on its merits and look first at the label the unfortunate writer has been encouraged to give her/his book? In the label ‘genre’ writing there is an implicit sneer. Sometimes though, great writers could be accused of writing stories that don’t fall into the strait jacket of ‘literary fiction’, where things happen that are not exactly…normal. I mean like when this bloke wakes up and finds he’s turned into a giant beetle!!!!!

Garcia Marquez and other South American writers have been attributed their own acceptable and exclusive genre by the literary establishment—‘magical realism’— which avoids having to admit that this is essentially fantasy writing and as such, one of the most despised of the ‘genres’. I think Marquez and Kafka probably count as ‘literary’, but I could be wrong. And any agent looking for ‘magical realism’ outside of South America hasn’t read the right articles on the subject. Kafka is a notable exception, but purists tend to argue that ‘magical realism’ is a product of the South American experience and we in the west have lost the ability to link to the magic in our culture. Our magical realism is just plain fantasy. (I wrote that with a sneer).

Why can’t we go back to the good old days when there were just books and children’s books? I like to think I write books. I don’t like the implication that they are so similar to other people’s books that there is a handy tag for them. If I’d wanted to join the pack I’d have given them one-word, suggestively angst-ridden, preterite titles for a start.
How about Ruptured, Busted, and Knackered, the three volumes of the Banjaxed Trilogy?

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

19 thoughts on “Does literary have to mean dull and boring?”

  1. Genres are like small towns. They like to think themselves unique when they are actually all the same. “…like when this bloke wakes up and finds he’s turned into a giant beetle!” Yes, the bug genre, not to be confused with the Bug, Kentucky genre, which is not to be confused with the Bugg, Kentucky genre. If you can’t find your way in, you’re in good company!

    1. I blame Amazon. Before Amazon categories unless you actually wanted your book to be known as a série noire crime thriller or a Mills & Boon type romance, you just said it was fiction. Now there are almost as many genres and sub genres as there are novels. Agents actually publish wish lists with plots they would like somebody to turn into a book. Nobody just writes novels anymore.

  2. I mentioned this the other day. Why can’t people accept – why can’t authors aspire to – the closure of this silly gap between genre fiction and literary fiction? Anyone who thinks genre is inferior or different to literary should say that to Umberto Eco’s face (Foucault’s Pendulum), or Peter Ackroyd’s face (Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem), proof that genre fiction can be written with all the style and skill of literary fiction until the two merge into one.

    What that publisher is implying is that anything with a recognisable story is pulp and therein lies his or her condescending opinion of the people who buy and read that kind of novel.

    I would ask you to name names, but I know you won’t!
    Chris

    1. I don’t mind saying that it’s the Tinder Press. They can publish what they like, but it seems so narrow-minded to insist that if you could stick a ‘genre’ lable on a ms they don’t even want to look at it. Logically all fiction is fantasy; it’s all made up unless it’s autobiography (and even then…!). Some people would say that elves and dragons are fantasy but God is perfectly acceptable; a novel about a man in a grey suit who fantasizes for 300 pages about a woman he saw forty years ago on the tube is literature whereas a man in a silver suit who spends 300 pages having extraordinary adventures across the universe is not. Funny set of priorities seems to me.

      1. Looking at their site it sounds to me that a book’s genre is whatever the author want’s it to be. Mine isn’t a ‘paranormal contemporary fantasy’ it’s literary fiction, therefore it qualifies!

        But having looked at the novels listed on their site I can see what they mean when they say they don’t accept genre fiction. Half the books don’t seem to be about anything other than people worrying about something trivial.

        Chris

      2. I think the reply to the paranormal was that they don’t take anything paranormal or fantasy. One of the last questions was from an author saying she didn’t know exactly what genre her book was, thought it might be magical realism, but she hoped they would consider it was literary. That to me sums up the problem. You’ve written a book, you think it’s well written, you haven’t written it to a formula so it will fit neatly into a niche market, you want a publisher to at least look at it. And you find yourself worrying about whether or not it counts as ‘literary’. Surely the way you write is the litmus test, not the content. There wasn’t a reply to that question. I hope she submits. It might cheer up their list a bit 🙂

    1. And even more frustrating when publishers say they won’t even look at a ms if it could be classed as genre fiction. It shunts everything but the unclassifiable rather grey novels into an untouchables ghetto.

  3. Interesting… I dislike the attitude but i do get why they do it. I wrote a book. Four books actually. I call them science fiction but theres no space, theyre fantasy but there’s no magic, just science. Some of the characters fall in love. There’s a sword fight… And laser pistols. There are different species of creatures to humans because… Well… Just humans would be boring. There are NO dragons, elves, fairie people, unprounancable celtic names, dragons, trolls dwarves or aliens… Oh and death knell of death knells, it’s funny.

    Now that I have to try and flog the ruddy thing I’m sort of beginning to sympathise with the publishers who are looking for ‘literature’ or boxes into which to put their books. I’m not saying I like their approach but it does make selling them easier.

    Cheers

    MTM

    1. But to sell them they have first to publish them, and they won’t even consider your book for example, with laser pistols, no matter how beautiful the prose, how original the story, on the grounds that it is NOT literature because it has lazer pistols in it. Why can’t they look at it on the same terms as all the other books without laser pistols and judge it on its merits? If it’s good enough to publish it ought to be easy for them to pitch.

      1. It’s lazy trends in marketing, I think, and I agree that with a proper marketing budget such measures are nothing more than the slapdash cutting of corners.

        Here, I have to confess I’ve read what I think are beautifully written books which will never be accepted by the establishment because they are funny. Someone like Douglas Adams… Boy can he write but there are a lot of people who will be snooty about his stuff forever because it contains humour. Terry Pratchett even more so. I guess we should just thank our lucky stars that a, it’s possible to self publish and that b, we’re not that dull!

        Cheers

        MTM

      2. Most of us do end up self-publishing and it’s good that there’s the option. I still get cross though at the snooty idea that if a book excites any emotion other than boredom it’s not ‘literary’. No doubt I’ll get over it 🙂

  4. Just insert Tinder into the email I just sent you and you’ll have a great punishment for them. 🙂

Leave a comment