Haiku challenge: Bard & Water

Time to join in Ronovan’s Haiku challenge. This week the key words are Bard and Water.

Here are my two poems.

The stained glass is by Edward Burne-Jones

Enchantment

Honey tongued the Bard

singing his spells false seemings

water turns to wine

In two lines this gives:

Honey-tongued, the Bard singing his spells, false seemings.

Singing his spells, false seemings, water turns to wine.

1014px-Burne-Jones-Viking_Ship

Sea Wolves

Charm the waters, Bard

with spells beyond the ninth wave

bloody sea wolves hold.

In two lines:

Charm the waters, Bard, with spells beyond the ninth wave.

With spells beyond the ninth wave, bloody sea wolves hold.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

18 thoughts on “Haiku challenge: Bard & Water”

      1. Subliminal works for me every time. I love Bard and Breakfast. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. The stained glass is beautiful, and that second poem is my kind of thing entirely ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. It’s a reference to the ninth wave in Celtic mythology. Enemies are held back by enchantment beyond the ninth wave, the sea god prevents mortals venturing beyond the ninth wave etc. It’s a magic number. Thank you for reblogging!
      Who is the Bush you refer to? Excuse my ignorance, but I’m intrigued ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment