Two sentence horror story

I wrote this in response to Sacha Black’s challenge.

The painting is by Cecioni

ALI142426 Interior with a figure (oil on canvas) by Cecioni, Adriano (1838-66) oil on canvas Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna, Rome, Italy Alinari Italian, out of copyright

In the dream, she lay in bed, facing the dimly-lit window, paralysed, feeling the displacement of cold air, the presence in the doorway behind. In terror, her eyes snapped open to the palely moonlit room, her pounding pulse accelerating as the presence stroked the back of her neck.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

15 thoughts on “Two sentence horror story”

      1. I had this horrible nightmare where I dreamt Iโ€™d woken up and couldnโ€™t move and though I couldnโ€™t see it, I knew something really awful had come into the room. I wrote it into a story, then I had the dream again. Itโ€™s recurred several times in different forms. Iโ€™m guessing it comes from Trixieโ€™s (cat) habit of barging into our bedroom if somebodyโ€™s left the landing door open and sheโ€™s got upstairs. I have woken and opened my eyes to see the door swinging open and nobody there. Up to now, itโ€™s just been Trixie scuttling under the bed.

        >

      2. Thank goodness that’s all it is! And not something more creepy! Our house is quite draughty, and I am often woken up by my bedroom door creaking just slightly, as if someone has just pushed it slightly ajar to peer inside. Of course, there’s no one there.

      3. Augh! I get that dream, too! Only I usually see an actual figure, and it feels absolutely real. I always dream that I’ve woken up, and that figure is there, somewhere: at the end of the bed, or at the door, or running straight at me–or worse, right beside me and reaching for me. I HATE that dream.

      4. It certainly FEELS real while it’s happening ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s the only dream I consistently wake from, screaming. Fortunately that wakes the Hubby, too; and I’m cuddled back to sleep ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment