Microfiction Three Line Tales: An Easter story

This three line tale is for Sonya’s photo prompt.

photo by Gemma Evans via Unsplash

 

tltweek63

Lamb 753 spat out a bit of thistle and replied to Lamb 537. “Because it’s Easter, for their God fella, because he’s compassionate and merciful and full of peace and love.”

“So they’re going to eat us? All of us? Even us babies?” Lamb 537 said, glancing fearfully at the row of trucks waiting, ominous and empty.

Lamb 753 spat out another piece of thistle. “They don’t have the same ideas about peace and love as the rest of us,” he replied mournfully, “and they’re in charge.”

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

25 thoughts on “Microfiction Three Line Tales: An Easter story”

      1. It’s nothing lasting. I have very weak muscles and sprain them easily, especially in the back. At the moment, one of the muscles that runs from the shoulderblade to the back of the head is inflamed and yesterday I pulled another muscle in the middle of the back. I’m doped up with pain killers that don’t kill the pain but leave my head fuzzy. It’ll go eventually. Thank you for asking 🙂

  1. I thought a bright cheery lambsie read was in order for easter. I only get a few minutes of wifi while shopping and eeking it out doesn’t work as there is only a minute space for it in the motorhome (our abode until completion). So clutching my tablet and basket i click your post, desperate for a catch up and an easter treat… Jane Jane Jane… That’s it! spring lamb on the barbecue will stave of the biting winds and morning frosts. Haaha! Happy easter Jane good write 😉

      1. Yikes! I guess it’s good you’re not cooking a big dinner.
        Hope you feel better. We have an ointment here called “Icy Hot.” It makes sore muscles feel much better. I wonder if you have anything similar there?

      2. Preparing monster meals and having it turn into a pitched battle is not my idea of a fun time, so that’s out until people learn how to get on together.
        I’ve been proposed Tiger Balm by a Vietnamese friend whose grandmother swears by it to cure everything. It has that ice hot effect, but the only thing that really works is physio and sedatives.

      3. It doesn’t seem to effect your writing, although we might see some more nasty creatures, I suppose. 😉 I hope you feel better soon, Jane.

  2. sometimes the truth hurts and the reason so many people avoid it. A nice take on the picture although honest and brutal. A cuddly lamb is more emotional than a lamb chop with mint sauce, well maybe!

    1. Thanks James. You’re right that there are truths we don’t like to look in the face. Without being judgemental, it’s hard/impossible to deny that lamb chops come from the happy, skippy, gambolling babies we fill kids’ story books with.

Leave a comment