End of the beginning

On a tangent from the WIP for Sue Vincent’s #writephoto challenge. I know, the stars aren’t out yet, I’m anticipating.

Screen Shot 2019-11-28 at 22.32.43.png

The hills were white with a dusting of snow and the air was crisp and clear. Overhead, the sky was full of stars.

“You’d never see a sight like that in London,” Jon said.

Holly didn’t need to look up; she had the shape of the stars printed on the back of her eyes.

“Why d’you think I came back?”

The muscles of Jon’s jaw twitched as he mastered the deep feeling of hurt. “I thought maybe, it might have been, you know, like because…”

Holly smiled and the tip of her nose turned up, inviting him to kiss it. “Because o’ you? Is that what you’re trying to spit out?”

He forced himself to look at her, into the eyes he knew would be full of gentle mockery. She had never been taken in by his self-importance, always cut him down to size. He wished…he wished…

Holly took his face in her hands and drew him close, so close he could feel the hot whisper of her breath. “O’ course it was, you daft mullock.”

Then she kissed him, and apart from the two of them, in all the universe, there were only stars.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

31 thoughts on “End of the beginning”

    1. I can’t say I remember hearing it. I got it from my Yorkshire glossary, expanding my vocabulary. I did learn a few interesting things from it, like the word skelp that obviously comes from Old Norse is also used in Ireland, same origin. They had their fair share of Vikings too. And cod, codology, codding etc isn’t Yorkshire at all, only Irish. Bensel is a word I like, but have never heard used. There are an awful lot of words in Yorkshire to describe getting a thrashing!

      1. No! I couldn’t do the gore though. I’m going more for mystery and suggestion. I know you like wading in blood.
        Not sure how it will work out, nor how long it’s going to be. If I get a novella I’ll be pleased.

Leave a comment