How much?

For the dverse prompt, an Ottava rima.

Coming, going, the waterbirds don’t leave a trace (Dogen)

No weight to feathers, nothing quite as light
As bird-drift, hawk-glide speckling the blue,
Or sailing silent ‘neath the stars the night,
The owl that passes needing scarce a clue
To find her prey, scurry of rodent flight,
And passing leaves the air seamless anew.
We gaze at wonders men have made and see
More worth than in the eagle flying free.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

53 thoughts on “How much?”

  1. The ottava rima is the perfect form for poetry about birds, Jane, and you have demonstrated that with this gorgeous one. I love the opening lines so much!

      1. That’s where my choice of subject matter comes from, but I’m also a frustrated singer I’d love to be able to sing, but I have a rotten voice. I have to make do with following the rhythm instead.

  2. Our sense of value and wonder has been twisted, to value our measly output in comparison to the wonder of nature. We’ve veered so far off of the path we may never find it again.

    1. I fear you’re right. It’s easy in a city to be distanced from the natural world, so natural beauty ought to be taught, the same way art is taught. We don’t know much instinctively.

  3. Unfortunately this is not the case with all water birds. The Canadian geese who used to fly south now winter in our area, and they most assuredly leave evidence of their coming and going. Your poem, however, is beautifully written!

  4. Lovely piece Jane – I was dog walking past the lagoon this morning – a small mallard sailing out across the still water – a dividing line stretching back out across the glass – ephemeral, weightless – just like this beauty, and the clever mechanics appear so effortless.

  5. Yes Jane, we human beings have never truly found our balance with, or respect of the natural world. We are such brutal oafs. We’d rather destroy it than understand it. This is a gorgeous insightful poem — bravo!

Leave a comment