April poetry challenge day 13

Another one that has slipped through the net. I used all three artworks for this poem for Paul Brookes’ challenge. You can see them here, and read the contributions.

Remembering the sea

The waves of the sky lap the sands of the shore,
boated and sailed and built with stone;

do we see with our eyes or our hearts in the dark,
and does daylight reveal or conceal the past?

I walked these shores beneath cold skies,
when the wind blew chill from the moors behind,

but the sands stretched smooth to the distant sea,
and the distance claimed the child that was me.

But all it takes is a starry night,
when the foxes bark and the deer replies,

a childhood is spread where the day shows stones,
and the stars sing songs of those cold grey skies.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

9 thoughts on “April poetry challenge day 13”

Leave a comment