Poetry for the (half) blind

New form no edits like writing on the sea floor it swims and unfocuses. I can’t really see what I’m doing but can’t do nothing. Apologies if I don’t reply tp comments.

They were there in the dark of the last evening
lying in the tansy beneath the willows
a hind and her young pne.
Not chased away by the deluge this morning
nor overly bothered by me or dog. hours they’ve ambled back and forth along the stream beneath the trees
Do they know there is nothing in this corner to fear?
No man no gun and baying dogs?
Young one frisks and leaps after high branches
uncaring of rain men dogs
and the turning of the year.

A words a turn of fphrase a buzz of bee
I see a blur of waterworks a stream trickling
from the front of the skull and the trars weep from the sky
a steady heavy plod of grey
is this what will be for months to come?

Underfoot tje daùp is shiny bright with sun fragments
after even the clouds tire and fall apart
and we walk among the treacherous slipperies
hoping not to fall me and dog who sees but hears nothing.

I will be the ears, he the eyes

and he drags me racing up the grassy path
in his head still a steeplechaser.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

39 thoughts on “Poetry for the (half) blind”

      1. I am so pleased that the deer are still in your safe haven and that your eyes are improving I was worried for you. As for Finbar like Ruby all we can do is keep them happy 💕

      2. Yes . I don’t want the vet prescribing all sorts of treatments and appliances to keep him dragging on. He’s tired. Intended to run until he drops not drag around deaf and going blind on crutches. I wouldn’t want it for me and I don’t want it for him..

  1. If this what comes out when your eyes are not focused then I am sure we will be treated to something exquisite when you are well.
    Take care Jane and hopefully you will be 100% soon.

      1. Thank you 🙂 It helps knowing that I’m being thought of. I just want to get out of the infernal clutches of hospitals and other people making decisions for me.

      2. Jane, I posted From Vault of Memories Past.
        Don’t even try to read it now. Your health is the most important thing right now. Take care and come back strong. You will.
        We are on a long road trip. So my response may be spotty.

      3. Jane, this trip was on the plan for more than fifteen years. In 2008 summer we thought we would do it but didn’t happen. Instead four of us drove from San Jose, California to Calgary, Canada and back. Our eldest one could not go as he was in college. In 2017 I drove alone from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to New Jersey and then to Montreal, Ottawa,, Toronto, Fort George in Canada to Niagara Falls, Fort Niagara and back to USA.
        This time due to Covid we curtailed our original plan a lot. Not going to Canada and in US also will be avoiding the deep south. Let’s see what happens.
        Mainly restricting ourselves to visit national parks / nature etc and avoiding big cities as much as possible.

  2. Nature pictures along with wildlife animals always creates another level of ambience with your writeup. Short writing with intense material is mixed in this story. First class writing.

Leave a comment