One day

I realised when I had written four stanzas of the Oracle’s message this morning, that she had given me the final stanza yesterday, in response to a cry of despair. Circles and cycles.

One day

Rain falls, welcome not bitter,
pattering through threads of birdsong,
music in the moaning of the wind.

Spring treads this damp green of thrusting shoots
though we scarce notice, our eyes
on screens and the world beyond.

Trees call with their leafing,
and the blue flowers beneath,
silent semaphore petals, unfurled flags.

One day, men with arms driven and blood-smeared,
will crash over the precipice,
the earth will pause with withheld breath,

and perhaps the colours will still be here,
bee-painted, bird-brushed,
whispered by the wind,
waiting for the smoke to clear.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

20 thoughts on “One day”

      1. Yes, they do. I hope our wind and maybe frost doesn’t kill the ones here that are blooming, but I guess spring flowers are hardy.
        You’re right, they could be read together. What a surprise. 😏

  1. I’ve had moments of intense grief in my life where I’ve found the idea of the seasons continuing to unfurl as almost affront, an attack on me personally. I sort of felt a hint of that feeling here.

    1. I know exactly what you mean about the affront. It’s also that behaviour changes when the weather improves, regardless of a personal grief. I wasn’t really suggesting that though I can see that interpretation works. I don’t expect humanity to survive the apocalypse we’re creating, we certainly don’t deserve to. But I hope nature does, even if it’s unlikely.

  2. “Bee-painted, bird-brushed”….how lovely. I, too, am amazed at the gentle unfurling of spring in the midst of the horrors we are witnessing. The earth tries so hard to live, in the midst of our madness.

Leave a comment