Poetry challenge #3 :the entries

Animation_candle_flame

The third challenge on the theme of Samhain attracted another beautiful crop of poems. Darkness, death and the otherworld/afterlife obviously have great appeal.
Here are your sept poems, in order of appearance.

Peter Bouchier was first (again!)

Hallo(w)

then Jim, who I’m pleased to say has left a twitter link this time—thanks Jim 🙂

come
Samhain
fest we leave
gifts to Aos Śi
to protect
our foods
reaped

@the _release_101

Ben Naga created a whole sequence. Spectacular!

DREAD ALLUREMENT

Gone
Summer
Samhain’s come
The Dark Season
Breathes a chill
Fire
Burns

Burns
And yet
Has no warmth
I’m shivering
What’s that sound?
A door
Creaks

Creaks
Again
T’is the sidhe*
The Otherworld
Shadowy
Beckons
Me

Me
Oh my
May I dare?
Go find her there
My heart’s love
Passed on
Gone

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*pron. shee.

Dread Allurement (In Sept Format)

Kat Myrman’s contribution
https://kmmyrman.wordpress.com/2015/10/28/thinning-veil-a-sept-for-the-season/

Kris the Bard. His blog link is here.

Trick
You play
Lost in time
While I await
Forlornly
My love’s
Treat

This one is from Deuxiemepeaux

Eye
Of the
Flame, find them,
Raise them, once more
To life, lust,
Thirst for
Blood

Ground
Opens,
Sky darkens
While flames flicker,
Hearts flutter,
Terror
Thrives

You can visit Damien’s blog here for more poems.

Jennifer Knoblock’s entry is here

This One Night

Next Elusive Trope:

Mound of Hostages

wisp
of fog
shape of man
passage denied
this one night
paces
mourns

http://elusivetrope.com/2015/10/29/mound-of-hostages/

A trickortreater from rivrvlogr
when
Marvin
rings your bell
on Halloween
he’s there for
bars from
Mars

https://rivrvlogr.wordpress.com/2015/10/29/a-snickers-by-any-other-name-would-taste-as-sweet/

Ali Isaac contributed two septs, very originally titled 1. and 2. 🙂

1.
Flames
leap high.
As sun slips,
darkness hovers
with the ghosts
and lost
souls.

2.
She
rode the
sky, laughing.
Queen of the night.
But no more.
Now she
burns.

Another classic Halloween entry from vhosking for whom I can’t find a link 😦
And I now have a link! https://vhosking.wordpress.com/about/

Plain
Orange
Pumpkin carved
Geometric
Shapes create
Funny
Face

A scary duo from Janice

Deep
urgent
bass strumming
warns danger lurks,
Rain lashed strings
screaming
fright.

Pale
shadow
figure lurks,
Eerie chimes bend,
Unearthly
bell rings
Gone.

https://ontheland.wordpress.com/2015/10/30/samhain-poetry-challenge-jane-dougherty-writes/

Finally, The Secret Keeper sent this one in
http://thesecretkeeper.net/2015/10/31/poetry-challenge-3-samhain/

Thank you all for the fun and the beautiful poems. The next challenge will be posted tomorrow. See you then.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

9 thoughts on “Poetry challenge #3 :the entries”

  1. This was the first time I wrote for this challenge. I didn’t put a link to my poem on my blog. Next time I’ll be sure to share it both here and there. Thanks for introducing me to the sept form.

    1. No problem. I’ve just added a general link to your blog. It’s nice to be able to see what fellow bloggers/poets get up to. Glad to have helped you expand your repertoire 🙂

  2. I was just thinking, ooops! Must have missed this one, and then I saw my entries… had completely forgotten about them lol! A great collection again, this challenge is proving very successful, well done Jane!

Leave a comment