Microfiction: Bounce

A very short story (89 words if anybody’s interested) in response to Sacha Black’s writing challenge. I admit it took me rather more than 60 seconds. It took me 60 seconds to clear my desktop and open a new word doc and another 60 secs thinking about what came after the first three words.Ā  Ah well, rules are made to be broken, shouts the anarchist in me.

1280px-Detail_of_apple_in_grass

 

The apple dropped. We didnā€™t hear the whoosh as it fell, just the thud as it hit the ground and rolled into the long grass. It was a beauty, green streaked with russet. And it had only one wormhole. Baby picked it up and gazed at it in awe.

ā€œRound,ā€ she said.

We beamed. Such a bright child.

She toddled to the path, apple clutched in chubby hand, and slung it to the ground.

She looked up at us, eyes full of reproach and shook her head.

ā€œDoesnā€™t bounce.ā€

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

23 thoughts on “Microfiction: Bounce”

  1. How prolific you have been these past days! I feel my energy draining…glad to come over here and catch up/fill up with your words.

      1. Lol! Nope they’re all like that at that age. I didn’t appreciate it either until I got older.

      2. I suppose. Maybe I was just weird, but I know Iā€™d have been able to tell a fox from a ferret when I was five, whereas mine didnā€™t even recognize the names of animals, never mind know what they looked like.

        >

      3. Really! That’s impressive. Did your family wheel you out at parties for entertainment? Lol! But your love of nature is definitely strong and evident in everything you write. I’m crap at recognising plants and trees. Just starting to learn really. Every plant I you choose dies. So I think it’s best to leave well alone and admire the weeds instead. Which thrive. šŸ˜Š

      4. I admit it, I was a bit freakish about animals and nature. The other day I was dog walking with another dog walker and I stopped to listen to a robin singing. My friend wanted to know what was up so I told him. He said, ā€œCan you really tell thatā€™s a robin?ā€ I think I lost a friend that day. Most people give head cases a wide berth šŸ™‚

        >

      5. That’s a shame! That’s one of the things I can’t work out, which bird I can hear is singing. Shame other people can’t appreciate that skill in you. I’d love to know. Amazes me that people aren’t curious about such things. Maybe they don’t even hear it.

Leave a comment