Microfiction: Making an end

Sacha Black’s challenge this week is to write a very short story using the title of one of the books featured in last week’s challenge. What a choice! It was like being offered a chocolate from a selection with all the hard chewy ones or the ones full of nuts taken out. Which one to choose? In the end I didn’t—I used five titles. Here they are with the links I could find if you want to check out the excerpt or the books.

Under stone

Drawn towards the sun

The haunted tide

Return to echoing waters

Oathbreakers

John_William_Waterhouse_-_Magic_Circle

They are oathbreakers, she murmured, restless in her bed under stone and root. They were given the care of the earth and they have abused my trust.

There was nothing more to be done, though she wept clouds and oceans of tears. It was time to end the work of aeons and begin again in another world. Perhaps. Gathering up her beautiful scattered dreams of green, blue, rainbow-coloured, soft-furred, perfectly scaled, leafed, feathered, the cold- and the warm-blooded, vegetal, animal, and mineral creations, she said the final words. She called down the stars, summoned back the moon into her dark cradle and let her child Earth change path, drawn towards the sun by the wrong, haunted tide, to return to the echoing waters of oblivion.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

13 thoughts on “Microfiction: Making an end”

  1. The intro to this made me laugh out loud. Is it a competition between us to see who can break the most rules?! hahahahaha. I love that you flout them as much as me, it makes me smile!

    This was gorgeous by the way – really poetic. All your fiction is, it’s kind of awe inspiring.

Leave a comment