Empty arms

I might find something less sad for Sacha’s writing prompt, but for the moment, this is what ‘the hug you’ve been waiting a long, long time for’ inspires.

1280px-G._Caillebotte_-_Chemin_montant

Empty arms

 

There have been so many times,

Your arms around me, held so tight,

When I have thought heaven was mine,

In an embrace that fills the night.

Each time that tenderness, so sweet,

I just reach out and you are there,

Our bodies fit, match and complete,

Is almost more than I can bear.

But the deepest longing, never sated,

Beneath the bliss, a constant pain,

Is for those gone far beyond my loving,

All those I’ll never hold again.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

5 thoughts on “Empty arms”

    1. Glad you like it, Sacha. Death really is the final cut-off. You can’t dream about making up, crossing the miles, starting over, etc. Once they’re gone, they’re really gone.

Leave a comment