Bring me my spear

To borrow and paraphrase Blake’s words. I don’t have enough of my own left.

Animation_candle_flame

I will not cease from mental fight,

Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand,

Till we have built fraternity,

In every green and pleasant land.

 

I will not pray for others’ sins,

Nor will I hide, but take a stand,

To lighten ignorance in our midst,

That darkness never raise its hand.

 

I will not turn the other cheek,

Nor forgive those who maim and kill,

I will denounce their ugly creed,

Justice must win, one day it will.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

22 thoughts on “Bring me my spear”

    1. It’s all so awful and depressing. There was a foiled attack on the fanzone at Bordeaux when I went to watch Ireland play Belgium and Hugh decided not to go to watch the fireworks last night. We’re all jittery about being in large crowds now.

      1. If you can kill so many people and destroy so many other lives with a hired lorry, what could you do with a hired aircraft and a nuclear power station?

      1. Unfortunately… Why do they do this? I keep asking myself this question, I know it’s sort of pointless but still. I just don’t get it.

      2. Me neither. They all tell us they are devout and pious. They all say their religion is peace and love. Yet they have all spent how many centuries killing people who had a different take on the supreme being? Why can’t people just follow the rules that they made up in the first place?

      3. Everyone should have a right to believe what they want and perverting religious teachings this way is unacceptable. I guess it’s all because people are irrational beings, really. They act on emotion and now, unfortunately, anger and hate are the dominant ones.

      4. Anger certainly, and hatred of stupid half-baked doctrines, but I don’t see ordinary people directing much hatred at their neighbours. It just seems to me to show how we shouldn’t let a religious belief become the guiding force in how we behave, since a belief is just that, intangible and accountable to nobody.

      5. Religious fanaticism is like a plague, yes. I do hope some greater understanding enlightens the people that follow these stupid doctrines, but it seems like all I do lately is hope… and then witness more terror.

      6. Don’t know what we can do. My second daughter gave me her opinion today—go to Canada. She has an idea that these kind of problems don’t exist in Canada.

      7. Well, what can I say? Developed country, huge area, awesome hockey. It does sound good.

Leave a comment