Microfiction: Firefly

I wonder how many other people thought of Ray Bradbury’s short story when they saw this photo?  This is for Sonya’s Three Line Tales, inspired by the photo by Dan Carlson.

tltweek25

She leapt down the centre of the street, each bound so high the watching crowd gasped in amazement, but only just keeping her ahead of the racing blaze.

“Go, girl!” they shouted, willing her mad race to carry her through the town, none of them understanding where the flames had started, and none understanding why they seemed to be chasing the girl.

She never looked back, her face set in the rictus of a triumphant smile as she sowed her seeds of fire, leading the flames to the refinery on the edge of town.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

16 thoughts on “Microfiction: Firefly”

    1. People seem to be using scary methods to make a point these days. Glad it provoked thought. The story I’m thinking of is about the beginning of summer and the joys for a boy of getting a new pair of runners or whatever they’re called in the US I forget.

      1. “Runners, sneakers, running shoes, sneaks, Air Jordans, Cons (for Converse) names keep changing. But a good bet is as follows: I’m from Canada and I saw running shoes; my husband from the US and he says sneakers.
        Don’t know that Ray Bradbury tale, but I’m not that familiar with his works — I haven’t read sci fi nearly as much as other genres.

Leave a comment