Leaf falls

Photo © Mihael Simonič

1024px-volcjipotok_11

I watch a leaf tremble,

Plucked by the breeze,

Drift and turn.

The distance from bough to earth, a season,

Turning,

And in that instant,

Between sky and earth,

You turn and leave.

Leaf turns in the breeze, drifts,

And in falling, the world changes

From fiery gold to ashes.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

28 thoughts on “Leaf falls”

      1. The only furry visitors we get in town are cats! And in the countryside the wildlife is secretive and mainly nocturnal, especially at this time of year when it’s open season on a lot of game.

  1. Doubt few people could make the falling of a leaf hold such poignancy, this reminds me of some of the japanese poetry I have read where they are able to pluck from nature, the very essence of emotions – as I once said to you that is one of your strengths and it’s done without any obviousness or clumsy effort, it’s your message underneath the careful observation of nature. This line was genius; The distance from bough to earth, a season. So clever.

    1. That was the line that I worked from 🙂 I was pleased with the way this poem worked out. You’re right, it is the stripping down to essentials that carries the most weight. I’m glad you like it.

      1. I did. Yes, as you strip away everything you reveal the core, that’s something you often do through the metaphors you use, so it’s subtle but really works.

      2. I do. I don’t even have to try to, it comes over for me and I have appreciated your writing very much since first I found you here.

Leave a Reply

