Microfiction challenge #23: Dragons’ egg

I know, it isn’t a painting, but it’s a sculpture so we’re still in the realm of the plastic arts. I couldn’t resist it. The expression on the proud parents’ faces! However, these are dragons, let’s not get too carried away with anthropomorphism. Perhaps there’s a sinister motive behind the gesture. What if it isn’t their egg at all? What is he intending to do with it? Boiled or poached? Write me a story based on the sculpture and post the link in the comments before next Thursday. I’m looking forward to reading a lot of dragon stories 🙂

 

varnadragons

Photo ©Grantscharoff

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

33 thoughts on “Microfiction challenge #23: Dragons’ egg”

    1. Great idea! If I were you, I’d avoid describing the pod as egg-shaped as it gives the end away and ruins the surprise of the dragons. I’d also describe the reactions of the two men (just a few words) to being shaken about rather than telling us that it was startling. It makes them more real and their predicament more frightening.

      1. Thank you so much–that’s a lovely comment. I didn’t want to go on too long. I think perhaps the as yet unnamed narrator was called away on official business. 😉

Leave a comment