Microfiction: Evil in a suit

This is for Sacha Black’s writespiration prompt, a villain in exactly 208 words. If you want to know who the nice man in the photo is, click on the image. I prefer not to even write his name.

772px-Emile_HENNEQUIN_Directeur_de_la_Police_Municipale_de_Paris_organisateur_rafle_vel'd'hiv

He set the wriggling laughing child down and dropped into the armchair with a theatrical sigh. The child, red in the face and almost hysterical with pleasure, climbed onto his lap.

“Again, Papa! Do it again!”

He caught the slight arms and laughed. “Let me get my breath back first, chèrie.”

His wife beamed at the sight of the two of them playing. He caught her eye and smiled back. He was about to propose a walk out to the park when the sound of voices from the street snatched his attention away. He went to the window. Police.

“Keep Lisette inside. I’ll be back in a moment.”

Slipping on his jacket, he strode across the road. Two armed officers were beating on the door of the house opposite. The third, the commissaire, shook his hand.

“This the place?”

He nodded. The commissaire barked out an order.

“Break it down!”

The din of heels hammering against the door was followed by the splintering of wood. The two officers pushed into the house and reappeared with a woman and two small children. The girl stared at him, eyes wide, not understanding. He smiled, a thin-lipped smile, and turned away.

Lisette won’t have to share a classroom with that anymore.

 

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

8 thoughts on “Microfiction: Evil in a suit”

    1. All nations have skeletons in the cupboard, and all have produced thoroughly evil people. The thing is to look the past in the eye and spit in it, even if it’s your own past. Pretending things didn’t happen is no solution.

  1. Apologies for taking an EON to read this, I kept it for when I was looking at the entries. SIGH. I wish you’d entered. You’re way too hard on yourself you know how much I adore your writing, this included. Sinister dreadful man, who does that?! Thank you for joining in, and I hope you’re well x

    1. Thanks Sacha 🙂 We just got our internet connection so moving in should go smoothly from now on. I feel as though I’m reconnected with the world beyond the tree line now! I’m glad you enjoy what I write, and I shouldn’t be so thin-skinned about others not much liking it.

Leave a comment