#writephoto: An unexpected guest

This is for Sue Vincent’s Thursday photo prompt. I let this one simmer awhile, hoping I would be able to get a more serious story out of the photo, but the original impression wouldn’t go away.

shelter

“Look!” David pointed across the valley at the hill beyond. “That looks just like the cave where Smaug lives.”

His mother frowned, but didn’t raise her eyes from her magazine. “Who’s Smaug?”

David sighed. “A dragon. Never mind. Can I go and look? There might be treasure.”

“Why don’t you go down to the stream instead,” his mother suggested and turned the page. “See if you can catch us a nice cod for supper.”

David snorted. “I’d rather have a packet of biscuits.”

“More biscuits? Haven’t you had enough sweet stuff this afternoon?” his mother said and rummaged in the bag with the remnants of their picnic. She handed him a packet of Jaffa Cakes. “Don’t eat them all.”

David took the packet and jumped to his feet. “They’re not for me. They’re for the Cookie Monster.”

His mother’s brow furrowed and she filled another couple of squares in the crossword before stopping. “Damn!” she said. “Doesn’t fit.”

A shadow fell across the page. She looked up. And screamed.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

34 thoughts on “#writephoto: An unexpected guest”

  1. Oh dear, it looks like Mom chose a very poor spot to relax and do her crossword puzzle. I hope the “cookie monster” is satisfied with just one packet of biscuits!

  2. Now you got me asking all sorts of questions like was that scream in terror, shock, or one of those screams I do when somebody eats my last Jaffa cake. It’s an interesting ending that allows the reader to fill in the gap you’ve left us.

    1. I suppose, Hugh, it depends very much on your attitude to the Cookie Monster. If, like me, you find the creature a ravenous nutjob, you’d probably be screaming in terror 🙂

Leave a comment