Sweet-scented carrion

A second poem for the dverse prompt attempting a contrast of mood in the two halves.

 

Dark clouds                   never encumbered our skies

Rain-bearing                 winds were balmy and soft

Clustered like crows   feathered omens

Glowering                      they promised fierce joy

Over a heap                   petaled and sweet-scented

Of carrion                      nurtured earth.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

28 thoughts on “Sweet-scented carrion”

  1. I like the imagery here…for me the ‘third’ might work better with encumbering…just a thought, as the first line of poem two doesn’t sit quite right with me as an opener.

    1. Hmm. It changes the meaning though. If I’d been using punctuation, which you can’t really with this kind of poem, I’d have put a comma in the first line: never encumbered, our skies,
      winds were always balmy and soft.
      ‘encumbering’ gives an opposite meaning.

      1. It’s one of the drawbacks of this kind of poem—when you add any punctuation it all falls apart, and if you don’t add any…it all falls apart…

Leave a comment