Said the rabbit to the child

This odd and dark little poem came to me last night as I was taking Finbar for his final outing up and down the lane at 11pm. There was a bit of a moon, the stars, and it was still light on the western horizon. There in never any traffic on this lane at night. We get maybe half a dozen cars go past all day. Just the neighbours.

I like walking at night when it’s still light enough to see. There are rabbits and hares, sometimes martens, deer and fox. And lots of owls. It’s their place, not ours. I keep Finbar on his lead so he doesn’t disturb them. It isn’t wilderness, just small holdings and woodland, but it doesn’t belong to people, no matter what they say, and however close they shave their lawns.

Jilly’s Jim Harrison quote for the days of unreason challenge seems quite appropriate.

 

โ€œHis mindโ€™s all black thickets and bloodโ€ย  ย from Songs of Unreason

 

It must be hard to be

a rabbit, said the child,

to hide beneath the hedge the day

for fear of man and running dog,

the shadow of the hawk,

to tremble night time at the sound

of hunting owl, the moonlit fox.

Rabbit listened sadly,

wept for the gentle child,

said, Life is hard for timid folk,

but little one, youโ€™ll find

that unlike you, we’ve naught to fear

from our own kin and kind.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

63 thoughts on “Said the rabbit to the child”

      1. I see bunnies from time to time and coyotes as well. Right now, there is a lot of building going on near us, which always displaces the little critters. Plus, it’s been unusually dry. About a month ago, 3 mountain lions were spotted in a nearby neighborhood!

  1. a thoughtful, crepuscular poem – for some reason this prompt brought out the rabbit in Charley & I too

    1. There are a lot of rabbits about at the moment, dozens of them all over the grass, in the lane, everywhere, and it’s because they’ve had a systematic hunt of the the foxes. Soon they’ll be saying there are too many rabbits and they’ll be gunning them down too. We are just so illogical in our cruelty. I’m glad my children have learned that much.

  2. Okay, WOW! That last line, MInd blowing! I, too have felt this way, How hard it is must be for an animal to live without all the sophistication we have under our command, but maybe we are the ones who lack what they truly cherish? God I love your poems. If I may, I want to get some feedback from you for my last poem. It has been a while, so I don’t know how I did it! https://onegreatfantasy.com/fabricated-dragon-hide/

      1. Thank you! Maybe, but aren’t they more connected to nature? Maybe their life is short, but doesn’t it make it more precious? I would assume this is how the conversation between a human and God would go, much like between an Animal and a human respectively!

      2. Yes, I agree, that we have lost most of what connected us to nature. We try to recapture it, and I think that meditation and spiritual searching is a way of making up for what we have lost. Some would say it takes us deeper into ourselves and gives us something nature never could. I don’t know. In your idea, who would be Godโ€”the rabbit or the child?

      1. He either pretends he can’t see them or when they race under his nose he looks the other way, but as soon as a cat appears, the hunter is back. He’s really terrified of cats.

Leave a comment